~Book Review~ “Expectation” (The Murphy’s Law Series – Book 2) by Holly Mortimer

51Y8jSTANTL._SY346_

What starts as a one night stand takes Aiden and Gray on an unexpected relationship journey.

Gray is an introvert.  She rarely goes out and she does not do one night stands.  When she finds herself pregnant after a crazy night at the pub, she decides to tackle pregnancy and motherhood on her own . . . with finding a doctor as priority number one.  The last thing she ever expected was to walk into her appointment to discover that her one night stand was also her doctor.

Aiden is a bit of a playboy, who loves women, but does not love commitment.  He’s always careful with his conquests, and never expected to be a father.  When Gray walks into his exam room, he is floored.  So floored, in fact, that he acts quite the jerk, offending Gray enough that she is willing to walk away forever.

Deciding that he should do the right thing, Aiden tracks Gray down to offer his support through her pregnancy and then into parenthood.  What follows is a beautiful story of pregnancy hormones, unexplained emotions, wrong steps, asking for forgiveness, and learning to trust and love.

Holly Mortimer did an amazing job of showing that pregnancy and falling in love is not always glamorous and that it is can be difficult and sometimes even painful.  Both Gray and Aiden have very different personalities, and both are very stubborn.  They are forced to learn to compromise with one another to make any sort of relationship work, as friends or more, for the sake of their baby.  Add in a high-risk pregnancy, and both must learn to navigate the many pit falls put into the path of their budding relationship.

I love that this book showed that pregnancy and love are not easy.  Emotions for both parents are all over the place.  This book felt very real, and I appreciated that.  It is a well written story of two people who find themselves in unexpected circumstances that need to determine how to make it work for them.

4 stars and the wish that I could hang out at the pub with the Murphy clan!

13962490_1358385597509675_3459576850025771368_n

About the Book:

Amazon:  http://amzn.to/2nfAS8l

“Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.” – Murphy’s Law

Expectation

Aiden
I’m a doctor. Not just any doctor. I’m an OB/GYN, so I know my way around the female anatomy. It goes without saying, I’m pretty comfortable around women. That is, until one particular bespectacled beauty makes me incredibly uncomfortable. And suddenly, I’ve got no clue whatsoever what to do about this particular woman.

Gray
I did it. I had a one night stand and now all the warnings my momma gave me are coming true. I’m pregnant and he’s not really into relationships, let alone the instant family kind. So, I’m going it alone in Ireland, a country I’ve only just moved to, and ready to be a single mother, until my search for a doctor leads me right back to him.

14051621_1359629574051944_1236336096189953613_n

About Holly Mortimer:

718lCp0hybL._UX250_

Holly Mortimer is a wife and mother of two daughters, residing in Stratford, ON. She started writing in high school in an Ancient Egyptian History class, penning her first piece on Cleopatra and her many loves. Her teacher immediately asked her if she had any interest in writing soap operas when she graduated and dreams of being a romance writer were born.

She has just completed her fifth novel, Expectation and is currently working on book number six, Hacked, the fourth installment in the Murphy’s Law Series.
Become a Mortimer’s VIP reader and join my newsletter! Sign up via my website http://hollymortimer.com

Save

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑