~Author Spotlight~ Jodi Watters

The Spotlight is on Jodi Watters today!

Jodi currently has three novels published, her most recent released just last month!

I am super excited to spotlight Jodi today.  I was lucky enough to read two of her books as Quirky Blind Dates and I immediately fell in love with her characters and writing style.

FF_Divider_Pink

What would you like your readers to know about you?

That I agonize over every word. That I try to choose words and phrases that roll off the tongue smoothly. Like poetry. 

FF_Divider_Pink

What inspires you to write?

The easy answer is the voices in my head and the desire to make them tell a story. The hard answer is the deep-seated need to be noticed and acknowledged by someone in my life.   

FF_Divider_Pink

Is there a genre you feel drawn to write or do you see yourself tackling a variety of genres in the future?

I’ve always been drawn to Women’s Fiction. Give me a Kristen Hannah, Jodi Picoult, or Emily Giffin book and I’m a happy camper, but… when I’m reading, I always want the bedroom door open far wider than it is. I need to know what’s going down in that room! Call me a pervert. So, I try to write books that, at the heart, have the depth of Women’s Fiction, with a big splash of sex and steam. 

FF_Divider_Pink

Can you describe your writing space?

How about I show you a picture instead? ‘Cause it’s my bed. For real. I’ve written entire books in bed. At times, I do write from a bar stool at my kitchen counter, but mostly, in bed. I one day aspire to have a big, beautiful office with shelves full of my published works, but honestly, I’ll probably still write in bed.

beddesk

FF_Divider_Pink

Can you tell us a bit about your writing process?

I spend a lot of time just thinking about it prior to starting. Jotting down some things, but no hard and fast outline. Also, I don’t write in order, I write whatever scene I’m feeling at the moment. That means I have several ‘strings’ of scenes written, but not yet placed in the correct location. I attach as I go along, wherever the timing is right. Oftentimes, portions of the climax scene and a fair amount of the ending is written soon after I write the first chapter.  

FF_Divider_Pink

What is your go to snack when writing?

Diet Coke or water. Sometimes red licorice or Mike and Ike’s.  

FF_Divider_Pink

Are any of your books or characters based on personal experiences or people in your life?

No, but there is something in each book that pays homage to my sister. In Next to Me, it’s Ali’s love of diet Mountain Dew and licorice twists. In Wrong then Right, it’s Hope as a child, eating butter straight from the tub in the middle of the night. In True to You, it’s Olivia’s middle name; Christine. 

FF_Divider_Pink

Do you have a favorite character or book you have written?

My favorite book is always my most recent release. Favorite character is hard, because in a way, they’re all me, particularly the heroines. 

FF_Divider_Pink

Any hints as to what readers can expect next?

Jason Reynolds and Tessa Johns in Have a Heart. Jason’s your stereotypical solder and proud of it, frozen from the neck down. Tessa’s a people pleaser and the next Joanna Gaines, (or Martha Stewart, for those not addicted to HGTV,) busy building an empire and keeping her ‘perfect’ life perfect. Only, he’s not frozen and she’s not perfect, but together? A hot, awesome mess.  

FF_Divider_Pink

Tell us about your Street Team and or Reader Group and let us know how interested readers can join.

I finally have a readers group called Reading Jodi Watters. Click and join! https://www.facebook.com/groups/readingjodiwatters/?ref=group_cover

FF_Divider_Pink

When not writing your own books, who do you like to read?

I’ll read Rachel Gibson, Jill Shalvis, and Lori Foster without even needing a blurb. Of course, Kristin Hannah, Jodi Picoult, and Emily Giffin listed above, but also Sandra Brown. Liliana Hart is another go-to.

FF_Divider_Pink

Celebrity Crush?  Jason Momoa, but also Chris Pratt.

Sweet or Savory for snacks?  Savory. Potato chips.

What type of music do you listen to?  All. I constantly flip channels on my Sirius.

Favorite tv show?  Survivor and Orange is the New Black.

Biggest pet peeve?  Chewing with your mouth open.

Favorite vacation spot?  Oceanside, CA

Morning or Night person?  Night.

Favorite sports team?  Chicago Cubs.

FF_Divider_Pink

About Next to Me

NTM_FrontCover_LoRes.jpg

The past is hot on her heels.

On the run and out of options, a desperate Ali Ross knows two things for sure… 
Her ugly past will eventually catch up to her. And when it does, she’ll need a strong and loyal man to help her face the danger head on or risk losing everything. Including her freedom. 

The girl is hard on his heart.

Looking for love and having no luck, former Army Ranger Sam Gleeson knows two things for sure… 
His mysterious new neighbor is wreaking havoc on his heart. And her sweet and seductive charm is playing a captivating game with his head. Despite her secrets. 

Hiding from a violent ex-husband, Ali knows the law can’t help her. She also knows someone like Sam can. Fearing for her life, she hatches a shamelessly impulsive plan that’s as old as time. She’s willing to do whatever it takes to ensure her safety, and that includes doing the sexy soldier next door. But when their searing chemistry blazes so hot it burns them both, Ali’s hidden agenda seals an unimaginable fate. 

FF_Divider_Pink

Buy Link:  Amazon US – http://amzn.to/2pGmirJ

FF_Divider_Pink

Click here for Janine’s review of Next to Me

FF_Divider_Pink

About Wrong then Right

WTR_FrontCover_LoRes

Hope Coleson is having a doozy of a day. 

Wrongly terminated from her menial waitressing job? Check
Abruptly evicted from her run down apartment with prime views of the graffiti painted dumpster? Double check.

Thoroughly bedded by a smoking hot man with smooth

moves and zero communication skills? Triple X check.
And it doesn’t end there. Estranged family members are showing up like bad pennies, her precious savings account has been wiped clean, and she may or may not have a stalker. 

So what’s a desperate girl to do, but try her hand at love? 

Retired Navy SEAL Beckett Smith doesn’t make mistakes.

Yes, he drinks his way to the bottom of a beer bottle or six, on one too many occasions.
Sure, he’s a well-educated man who prefers to communicate at a level only slighter higher than your average poodle. 

And yeah, he lost his legendary control and slept with his boss’s sister, stripping her of more than just her clothes before making a quick getaway. 

Only it doesn’t end there. Isolation isn’t providing the peace he’s seeking, the boss he considers a friend is ready to hand him a beat down and a pink slip, and the girl he can’t stop thinking about is suddenly parked on his doorstep.

So what’s a jaded guy to do, but take a chance on love?

FF_Divider_Pink

 

Buy Link:  Amazon US – http://amzn.to/2oE0L5y

FF_Divider_Pink

Click here for Janine’s review of Wrong then Right

FF_Divider_Pink

About True to You

oie_7340XZkB1G3D

Olivia Quinn wasn’t looking for love. Climbing the corporate ladder at a thriving winery filled her days, and HGTV and a bottle of Coleson Creek chardonnay filled her nights. Hooking up with the heir to that winery seemed a bad idea for both her heart, and her employment status. But even a maxed-out Visa couldn’t make her say no to an impetuous two-day sex fest with a sapphire-eyed soldier who wore rugged and handsome like a tailored suit, and danger like a second skin. 

Two days, that led to a promise of a lifetime. Or so she thought. 

Asher Coleson is former Special Ops and 100% alpha. The sole heir to a family winery he wants jack shit to do with, he’s the strong, silent type, hardened not by the military, but by the aching absence of his one true love. Underneath his aloof attitude and sinewy muscle—all six and a half feet of him—lies a man so loyal to his beloved Olivia, he’s living half a life. And that half doesn’t include sex. He’s a bit… backed up. And not happy about it, either, but only his Olivia can satisfy him. 

These days, getting lucky means only one thing. Getting his wife back. 

FF_Divider_Pink

Buy Link:  Amazon US – http://amzn.to/2rEPHHQ

FF_Divider_Pink

Click here for Janine’s review of True to You

FF_Divider_Pink

About Jodi Watters

CD2_9828_2.jpg

My love for steamy romance began when I was in junior high. A friend and I came upon a dumpster of discarded paperbacks behind our small town’s Ben Franklin store. Covers missing and each book torn in two, split right down the center of the spline, I scanned the pages for any love or lust words—and curse words, too. From that point on, I scoured the public library and our local discount store, devouring anything labeled romance. I said a tearfully grateful goodbye to Judy Bloom as Jackie Collins began ruling my world.

I live with my high school sweetheart turned husband and our three, beloved DVR’s, in the desert Southwest. Otherwise known as the surface of the sun during the summer.

My life long goals are to think before I speak, smile more and swear less, and actually weigh what my driver’s license states I do. And I have been contemplating a hair color change for the last decade. I’m thinking red.

FF_Divider_Pink

Connect with Jodi

FB: https://www.facebook.com/jodiwattersauthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9758287.Jodi_Watters

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jodi_watters

Website: www.jodiwatters.com

Email: jodi@jodiwatters.com

Newsletter sign up link: http://www.subscribepage.com/jodiwatters

FF_Divider_Pink

Jodi, thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and chat with me!

It’s always fun to get a sneak peak into the mind of a writer as well as what they have coming our way . . . and, I can honestly say I can’t wait for Jason & Tessa’s story!

Readers, make sure you drop by and visit Jodi at her social media sites and readers’s group to learn more about her LOVE HAPPENS series as well as her upcoming releases.  I can promise, you won’t be sorry!

 

Have questions for Jodi Watters?  Leave a comment and I’ll make sure she sees it!  

19420370_1220215268107115_2853783496366645166_n

2 thoughts on “~Author Spotlight~ Jodi Watters

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

