~Blogger Bits~ Books I’ve Read More Than Once

Blogger Bits is new a feature that myself and a group of fellow bloggers will be tackling twice a month.  Topics will vary, but will always have something to do with the book or blogging world.

Have a suggestion for a topic?  Leave us a comment to let us know what you’d like to see us chat about!

oie_dAGcXJEjnlY2

What a topic, right!  We all have favorite books and authors.  I have a list of authors that I will one click without even looking at a blurb because no matter what I have read that they have written, it has always been a 5 star read to me.  But, today I took on the challenge of  writing about books and series that I have read multiple times . . . and why they hold such appeal to me that I would rather pick them up rather than something new.

This was not an easy task, and I discovered that I have many favorite authors and books both old and new, so I will try to limit my list to just a few.

There are some spoilers included in this post, so if you come across a book you have not read but intend too, please skip that section.

Line Break - Transparent

post_sept19_tbtbooks_anneofgreengablesseries

As a young girl, I completely fell in love with the adventures that Anne Shirley had throughout her life.  The series starts with Anne finding her way to Green Gables as an orphan who is adopted by a brother / sister duo to help on the farm and follows Anne throughout her life.   These books give readers a glimpse of everything from her first kiss, dealing with the death of a loved one, going to college, getting a job, finding her way back to her first love and having a family of her own.  Life was not always easy for Anne, and her intelligence and creativity always had her (and us as readers) seeing the world in a new and amazing way.

This is a series I often find myself going back to every few years for a reminder of treasuring the little things in life . . . especially your family.

Start the series:  http://amzn.to/2v1NIvL

Line Break - Transparent

51H7T448JKL._SX380_BO1,204,203,200_

Another series I read as a child and recently picked up again as an adult was The Time Quartet by Madeleine L’Engle.  Books include A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet,  and Many Waters.

I am pretty sure that this is the series that started my love for science fiction and the supernatural within books.  This series follows the Murry family on adventure that takes them across both time and space.  Having scientists for parents, the Murry children were used to strange things, but nothing could prepare them for the journeys they take in order to save the world and life as we know it.

Start the series: http://amzn.to/2tpasE4

Line Break - Transparent

Two quick honorable mentions from my earlier reading days are:

 

file_601132_standThe Stand, by Stephen King . . . it’s hard to resist an end of the world book where the super-flu is what takes the majority of mankind out and includes the ultimate battle between good and evil.  

http://amzn.to/2t0zSbI

 

watchers

And, Watchers by Dean Koontz . . . one government science experiment gone horribly wrong, the Outsider, and one gone incredibly right, Einstein the dog.   Dean Koontz  creates man’s ultimate best friend with Einstein and this dog  will live forever in my heart!

http://amzn.to/2tV7uJ7

Line Break - Transparent

For my more current reading, I found that I lean towards paranormal romance and romantic suspense.  And, I love series that don’t end in cliffhangers, but thread familiar characters book after book.  I also seem to be drawn to books that include Alpha men and strong, sassy and intelligent women.

Mageri Series bks 1-5

Dannika Dark’s Mageri Series is one of my favorite series of all time.  It’s an urban fantasy set in our world with one twist . . . human’s are most definitely not the only breed living on earth . . .however, most are unaware of anything supernatural at all.  Silver starts off life as a human, but is changed into a mage against her will.  As she begins to navigate her new life, we are introduced to an unforgettable cast of characters, including Logan Cross.  Theirs is the ultimate love story, both willing to sacrifice so the other is safe and happy.  

This series visits so many important life lessons including family, right vs wrong, social injustices and prejudices and most importantly love.  I admit that I was so consumed with this series my first read through was super quick because I needed to know what happened next . . . my second read through was even more enjoyable because I was able to slow down and savor the characters, dialogue and themes that carry throughout the series.  I need a re-read of Dannika’s Seven Series for this exact same reason!

Start the series: http://amzn.to/2tpw9np

Line Break - Transparent

series-800x732

I am also in lust with Lexi Blake’s Masters & Mercenaries series.  This is a series that has it all.  As the majority of characters are Dominants or submissives who often play in a BDSM setting, it is extremely hot and steamy.  However, this series is also romantic suspense.  The main characters work for McKay-Taggart, a security firm that is often called in to assist US agencies such as the CIA so espionage and adventure is always at hand.  Lexi’s characters are larger than life, especially Ian Taggart, the leader of this merry band of mercenaries and his wife Charlotte.  These books always have the most amazing dialogue as well.  If you live for sarcasm, Ian Taggart is your man.  Always original and exciting, this is a fun series no matter how many times I have read the books!

Start the series: http://amzn.to/2ujN8vL

Line Break - Transparent

And now on to my current honorable mentions!

 

f0191ba36e85dcc57f7a67378be3302fVictoria Dannan’s Knights of Black Swan series.  Vampires live among us, only we don’t know it because the Knights of Black Swan work tirelessly to keep us safe.  Elora is a phenomenal female lead in these books, and you have to love Sir Rammel Hawking, an elf with attitude!  While there are many books in this series, including spin off series as well, My Familiar Stranger is the book that started it all . . .and also my love for the Indie book community!

Start the series: http://amzn.to/2uoawYH

 

coverCherise Sinclair’s Masters of the Shadowlands series.  This series is also resolves around Dominants and submissives in a BDSM setting.  Each book focuses on a new couple, but old favorites always play a role.  I enjoy watching these couples learn to navigate one another and how to give the other what they truly need in the relationship.  There is typically an element of suspense as well adding to the fantastic plot that Cherise weaves so well.

Start the series: http://amzn.to/2utqamD

 

I have also been known to re-read Scott Hildreth books when waiting for a new release.  His books are raw and gritty and real.  His heroes are bad-ass and his heroines sassy.  While I love all of Scott’s Books, I have probably spent the most time with his Selected Sinner’s series.

Start the series: http://amzn.to/2ujFamg

C1otBNkBwnS._SL250_FMpng_

Line Break - Transparent

I knew starting out with this topic, that it would be difficult to limit, as there are many more that could have been added to my list.  I’d love for you to comment below with the books and series that you have read more than once!

 

Make sure to visit these blogs to see their posts as well!

The Staircase Reader

Red Hot Ink

A Page To Turn

 

Save

10 thoughts on “~Blogger Bits~ Books I’ve Read More Than Once

Add yours

    1. I am typically not a huge Stephen King fan . . . I am not big on horror. But that book is an all time favorite. As for the Shadowlands, if it is not a trope you enjoy, it would be difficult to get into. Thank you for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I adored Anne of Green Gables when I was a child! Hmm, perhaps I need to revisit her 😀
    Also, I’m a massive paranormal romance/urban fantasy fan so I’m most definitely checking out Dannika Dark’s Mageri series. It looks like something I might enjoy 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jazz, I adore Dannika Dark. What’s fantastic, is that bother her Mageri and Seven Series are complete . . . and totally binge-worthy if you have the time. Her new series is pretty kick ass as well!

      And, Anne Shirley was one of my first book loves . . . my original set literally has pages falling out I read them so many times. Now, as an adult, they are such a quick and easy, yet heart warming re-read . . you don’t have to think real hard and can just enjoy them for what they are.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d never heard of the Mageri series prior to now, but it sounds just right up my alley. I’m all for epic love stories and characters who’d go to the end of the Earth for each other. I’m adding it right now! I’m missing some PNR in my TBR lately and I love series that are a string of standalones with the same characters. Also, now I want to meet Ian Taggart, since sarcasm is my mother-tongue.

    https://redhotink.wordpress.com/2017/07/15/blogger-bits-booksseries-ive-read-more-than-once/?preview=true&preview_id=9610&preview_nonce=14655f6320

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Mageri series is phenomenal . . .What I wouldn’t do for a Logan Cross of my own! As for Ian Tagggart, he is one of my all time favorite characters . . he always has a witty and sarcastic comeback for every circumstance. Happy Reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

