~Author Spotlight~ Jennifer Sivec

The Spotlight is on Jennifer Sivec today!

Jennifer currently has five novels published, and recently combined her Eva Trilogy into a Boxed Set.

I am super excited to spotlight Jennifer today.  She is one of the first authors I got to meet face to face at a signing and is one of the most genuine women I have had the pleasure of knowing!

Page Divider 6

What would you like your readers to know about you?

I want my readers to know that I am humbled by and appreciate anyone who takes the time to read my books and take a chance on me. 

 Page Divider 6

What inspires you to write?

Everything inspires me including the news, real-life situations, people I meet, and books I read. I’m an observer and can pull something out of the smallest thing and create an entire story.

Page Divider 6

Is there a genre you feel drawn to write or do you see yourself tackling a variety of genres in the future?

I am typically drawn to women’s fiction because I love the depth and layers of the stories, which is what I love to write. I also love fantasy and have the first book, The Forgotten, in the Lost Children Series published. The challenge and freedom of fantasy are exciting to write.

Page Divider 6

Can you describe your writing space?

I just cleaned up my office and created a nice little writing area at my desk, but I honestly write anywhere I have the time and space. As long as I have the means and a moment, I am usually good to go. 

 Page Divider 6

Can you tell us a bit about your writing process?

I usually have an idea for a story and as much as I would love to say that I’m good at plotting it out, I actually suck at it. When I think I know where the story is going to go, the characters rebel and take it somewhere completely unexpected. I will say that I do try and have an idea of how each story will end, but that has sometimes ended in surprise as well. I am trying to outline chapters a little more now, but it remains to be seems if this will work. I’ll have to let you know!

 Page Divider 6

What is your go to snack when writing?

 I usually just like to drink hot tea. Eating distracts me. 

Page Divider 6

Are any of your books or characters based on personal experiences or people in your life?

Brynn, in the Eva Series is very close to some of my personal experiences. Gee tragedy was loosely based from some of my own experiences so writing her stories was cathartic. 

Page Divider 6

Do you have a favorite character or book you have written?

The Warrior in my Lost Children Series is one of my favorite. She’s a woman who has forgotten what she’s lost and who she is. As the story progresses, she begins to remember and she starts to fight for the life she once had. I love her strength and can’t wait to see her story continue.

 Page Divider 6

Any hints as to what readers can expect next?

I currently have three WIPs. The first one will be The Other Half of Me, which is a romance novella, and something different for me. I’m also working on an unnamed project, as well as the second book in the Lost Children Series, The Forsaken. I write stories about love, loss, and redemption, and these books won’t disappoint. 

 Page Divider 6

Tell us about your Street Team and or Reader Group and let us know how interested readers can join.

My group is Jen’s Literary Loves and I absolutely adore them. They’re the best group of book-friends and readers, and I don’t know what I’d do without them.

You can join by clicking this link

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1553724988212501/

IMG_0104

 Page Divider 6

For new to you readers, what book would you suggest they read first?

I would suggest reading Leaving Eva. It’s intense but worth it. 

 Page Divider 6

When not writing your own books, who do you like to read?

I love to read everything. If the characters are beautiful and tormented or imperfect, I love them instantly. 

I just read Brides, Beast, and Baklava by JC Wing, and before that A Thousand Boy Kisses by Tillie Cole, Bad Mommy by Tarryn Fisher, Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty, and The Last Time I Checked I Was Still Here by Lark Griffing. One of my favorite books is Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffengger and anything by C.S. Lewis or Anne Rice. 

 Page Divider 6

Share a random fact or two that readers don’t know about you.

It’s impossible for me to write anything funny. The only time I’m ever funny is when I’m around people who bring it out in me, but there aren’t many people who can do that. 

For being a mom and responsible human being in most of life, I have terrible potty mouth. I always have. As I get older it gets worse and if you give me a shot of whiskey, forget about it. 😆

 Page Divider 6

Fun Facts:

Celebrity Crush? Henry Cavill, Ryan Gosling, Adam Levine, Billy Flynn. Holy Moly.

Favorite Beverage? Rye Whiskey 

Sweet or Savory for snacks? Both

What type of music do you listen to? A little Eminem, a little Luke Bryant, a little Kelly Clarkson… I love most music.

Favorite tv show? Friends. Always.

Do you have any pets? Yes-two rescued pups. They’re both older but I adore them. 

Biggest pet peeve? Negativity. It’s gives me hives. 

Favorite vacation spot? Anywhere my family is. 

Morning or Night person? Both. 

Favorite sports team? The Cleveland Indians

Hobbies? Writing. Anything that has to do with books, books, books.

Page Divider 6

 I Run to You

51+Ko-Gl-SL

When you think you’re unlovable, how do you find the courage to love?

All of Alyssa Bennet’s life, the two people who were supposed to love her the most have let her down. Anna, her best friend, and her beloved grandmother, Nona, are the only constants in her every day; that is until the unbelievably perfect Landon Daniels comes along. For the first time in her life, Alyssa begins to believe that she might just be worthy of being 
loved.

When the unexpected happens and threatens to snatch away her first chance at happiness, Alyssa must decide if she wants to continue her journey alone, or embrace the love she’s always wished for.

Women’s Fiction author, Jennifer Sivec explores hope, courage, and mortality in this gripping novel about one woman’s struggle to discover what it means to come to terms with your past, and above all, love yourself enough to be loved.

Page Divider 6

Buy Link:  http://a.co/3QbxupP

Page Divider 6

 The Forgotten (The Lost Children Series Book 1) 

51lM93KZjaL

What would happen in a world where the children were suddenly forgotten?
A devastating deal between two devious creatures changes the Balance of all life in the land of Tamaryn. With a blinding flash of light and a rumbling of the earth, brothers Jakob and Kell, awaken to realize they have no memory and no home. When they discover other children who are alone and frightened as they are, they join together on a quest to find anything that might be familiar. With the help of their Protectors they embark on a dangerous journey, determined to discover their identity and survive, in a tumultuous land with unknown enemies.
As the devious ones continue to plot an existence that will ultimately destroy Tamaryn, the children and one lone warrior who is fighting on her own, seek to restore what has been lost.
To do this they will risk everything in this fantastical story of what happens when the most beautiful love of all, is completely Forgotten.

Page Divider 6

Buy Link: http://a.co/iqgWhOf

Page Divider 6

Leaving Eva: (Eva Series) (Volume 1)

51SIA+ATCgL._SY346_

How can we erase the memories that threaten to scar us?

On the outside, Brynn Michaels appears to have it all. A successful career. A loving husband. A beautiful home. But nobody, not even her husband, knows the depth of Brynn’s horror. Abandoned as a child on the side of the road by her young, drug-addicted mother, then later abused by her adoptive father, Brynn has spent her entire life hiding her physical and emotional scars. As Brynn struggles to overcome her past so that she and Adam can begin a family of their own, the darkness refuses to let her go.

The peace that Brynn has tried so desperately to cultivate seems just out of reach and even the love of Adam may not be enough to weather the storm.

Leaving Eva is the tragic and suspenseful story of one woman’s battle to overcome abandonment and abuse. In this powerful novel, author Jennifer Sivec explores the human resolve and our ability to not only survive, but thrive.

Publisher’s note: This story is intended for mature audiences. It contains scenes depicting graphic violence and strong language.

IMG_0102

Buy Link: http://a.co/fCMD9Lo

Download Leaving Eva for free:  https://dl.bookfunnel.com/18i0pgn652

Page Divider 6

Losing Eva: (Eva Series) (Volume 2)

51ib+94JAGL

Tragedy can seek us out at the moment we least expect it.

Brynn and Adam Michaels have rebuilt their lives after Brynn’s painful and cruel past threatened to tear them apart. With a baby on the way, hope and promise are within reach. Just when Brynn envisions that she and Adam can lead a happy life, an unexpected visitor arrives, threatening to destroy everything.

When the one thing holding them together is ripped cruelly from their lives, they are forever changed, their fragile life together teetering dangerously on the edge. 

As Brynn discovers a life she never expected, and a family she never knew she had, Adam, the only person she has truly loved, slowly changes into a man she no longer recognizes. When a handsome stranger arrives at Brynn’s darkest moment, feelings she never knew could exist are stirred within her and she must make a choice. 

Will her decision cost Brynn the ultimate price?

Losing Eva is the deeply complex, emotional sequel to Leaving Eva, and the second novel in the Eva Series. Caution: Eva’s story contains graphic violence, strong language, drug abuse, domestic abuse, and child abuse. 

As an author of women’s fiction, Jennifer Sivec creates strong characters and explores the dark edges of the human spirit. Her thought-provoking novels implore readers to question how much suffering one can endure and yet also provide messages of hope and promise.

Page Divider 6

Buy Link:  http://a.co/ghHEOAG

Page Divider 6

Saving Eva (Eva Series)(Volume 3)

51I6V6M3kKL._SY346_

All her life, Brynn Michaels has fought to escape the demons, from her childhood, that continue to haunt her. She is thwarted at every turn to find the peace and happiness she so desperately seeks. Just as something promising happens in her life, Brynn is involved in a devastating car accident that nearly kills her.

Those who love Brynn suffer during the long years she remains in a coma. Her only child, a daughter named Eva, searches for her own elusive happiness. Eva must wrestle with the everyday emptiness she feels without her mother’s guidance and love. Adam, Brynn’s estranged husband, has spiraled into a sea of dangerous despair. Unable to let her go, he turns to the only thing that has ever given him comfort. Brynn’s lover Nick, unable to forget her, is haunted with the memories of their love and the life they were never able to share.

Joy finally arrives with Eva’s wedding and excitement of her pregnancy, but when danger suddenly arises, everyone is forced to reevaluate who they have become and what they must do to protect the family. When things become the most bleak, long-time family friend, Jack Palmer, arrives, bringing with him the hope that true happiness is indeed possible.

In this complex and thrilling finale to the Eva Series, author Jennifer Sivec explores how long love can truly last and how far one is willing to go to finally have it.

Page Divider 6

Buy Link:  http://a.co/eccyiNd

Page Divider 6

The Eva Series: The Complete Collection

518+u3-aNlL._SY346_

The Eva Series captures all of the beauty and cruelty of the human spirit, and explores how strong one can be, when there is no other choice.

Book One-Leaving Eva

How can we erase the memories that threaten to scar us?

On the outside, Brynn Michaels appears to have it all. A successful career. A loving husband. A beautiful home. But nobody, not even her husband, knows the depth of Brynn’s horror. Abandoned as a child on the side of the road by her young, drug-addicted mother, then later abused by her adoptive father, Brynn has spent her entire life hiding her physical and emotional scars. As Brynn struggles to overcome her past so that she and Adam can begin a family of their own, the darkness refuses to let her go.

Book Two-Losing Eva

Brynn and Adam Michaels have rebuilt their lives after Brynn’s painful and cruel past threatened to tear them apart. With a baby on the way, hope and promise are within reach. Just when Brynn envisions that she and Adam can lead a happy life, an unexpected visitor arrives, threatening to destroy everything.

When the one thing holding them together is ripped cruelly from their lives, they are forever changed, their fragile life together teetering dangerously on the edge. When a handsome stranger arrives at Brynn’s darkest moment, feelings she never knew could exist are stirred within her and she must make a choice.

Book Three-Saving Eva

All her life, Brynn Michaels has fought to escape the demons, from her childhood, that continue to haunt her. Just as something promising happens in her life, Brynn is involved in a devastating car accident that nearly kills her.

Those who love Brynn suffer during the long years she remains in a coma. Joy finally arrives for her loved ones, but when danger suddenly arises, everyone is forced to reevaluate who they have become and what they must do to protect the family.
In this complex and thrilling finale to the Eva Series, author Jennifer Sivec explores how long love can truly last and how far one is willing to go to finally have it.

Page Divider 6

Buy Link:  http://a.co/dLA2xRb

Page Divider 6

About Jennifer Sivec:

IMG_0096

Beginning at a young age, I’ve been broken by the people who were supposed to love me the most. By people who were supposed to protect and care for me, and value me above all others. 

I learned to rely on and trust myself more than anyone else with each heartbreaking lesson and as a result, I’ve been able to walk away from many people, friend and loved one, and erase them completely. I was a survivor; resilient and galvanized by tragedy and circumstances; outwardly normal, but inside, desperately fearful. I’m much like the main character, Brynn, in my Eva Series. She’s a reflection of me; strong, capable, and a survivor, but irreparably broken yet hopeful.

I didn’t realize just how shattered and vulnerable I was for most of my life. But then I became a mother and a few years later when personal tragedy struck, the pain I had buried deep inside for so many years returned with a vengeance, nearly destroying me.
That’s when I began writing, again. 

I had written as a teen and as a young adult, but when I began writing Leaving Eva, I wrote to survive. I wrote because the alternative to writing was desperation and depression. I wrote because the words brought peace and the stories, clarity. I wrote because I couldn’t breathe and I couldn’t sleep and when I wrote, I didn’t think about those things and I was able to be myself again. I realized that writing beautifully broken stories healed me in a way that nothing else could. Writing drove away the darkness and made me the mother that my children needed. One who could make sense of the world, for them and for herself.

Writing beautifully broken stories with heart, has given me hope, life, and far more love than I ever imagined that it would. I didn’t realize that these were always the stories that drew me in and touched me the most. They were the stories that reach deep inside of me and writing them now, has made me whole and given me peace in my life that nothing else has. 

The chaos has quieted and the noise and dissipated and for the first time, thanks to the stories I get to tell, I am finally whole.

Page Divider 6

IMG_0091

Connect with Jennifer Sivec:

http://jennifersivec.wordpress.com

https://www.amazon.com/Jennifer-Sivec/e/B00CA7NN64

https://m.facebook.com/jennifersivec/

www.jennifersivec.com

Page Divider 6

Jennifer, thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and chat with me!

It’s always fun to get a sneak peak into the mind of a writer as well as what they have coming our way!

Readers, make sure you drop by and visit Jennifer at her social media sites and readers’s group to learn more about her Eva series as well as her standalones and upcoming releases.  I can promise, you won’t be sorry!

Have questions for Jennifer Sivec?  Leave a comment and I’ll make sure she sees it!  

14908190_10211606561267743_2838614350281572005_n
Jennifer Sivec – Nov 2016
One thought on “~Author Spotlight~ Jennifer Sivec

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

